Go Back   Matt-Hughes.com Official Forums > General Discussions > Christianity

Old 05-12-2010, 07:14 PM
Angry @ Injustice!

Talking What is your Denomination/church background

If you would, you might also like to tell a little about your denomination as well, because not everyone may know exactly the emphasis and difference between say Catholic and Pentecostal

My Background is Low Church of England, I was brought up for 18 years at Saint Georges Church, Swallowbeck, Lincoln, which defined itself as celtic/low church. Non Evangelical, Non Charismatic, Non Teaching, but extremely musical and drama based, and very youth focused. I was infant baptized into this Denomination. I briefly became a Platonic Universalist and attended a Unitarian Chapel in Harrogate and Bradford. Then I became involved with the Anglican Chaplaincy at Bradford University, which was again Low Church Celtic, I also became involved with Sherbourne Road Community Church a Free church big in Teaching and Worship, Finally I got briefly involved with The American Pentecostal Church of The Harvest in Bradford. Again big on Teaching and Worship, but with the typical emphasis on Pentecostal invokation and ceremonial.

Then I went to Saint Paul's Cathedral London, and experienced High Church Anglo-Catholicism, and thats kinda where I am now. Liturgical and Ceremonial Based. I am now a Confirmed Member of the Denomination. I attend Christ Church on The Stray and sometimes Saint Peters Church, both High Church Anglicanism.

The Anglican Church spans a huge range of Denominations that have decided to become one in full communion under the "first amound Equals" the Church of England, which again displays the full range of Anglicans from Catholic without alligience to the Pope, and Against Women Ministry, through the Evangelical and Charismatic Churches that verge on the Pentecostal with emphsis on Teaching and music, to the Low and Liberal Churches that would welcome homosexuals.