Go Back   Matt-Hughes.com Official Forums > MMA Related > UFC

Old 03-30-2010, 08:11 PM
CAVEMAN

Default Renzo on Hughes and training with GSP

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/sport/g...t-matt-hughes/

Quote:
Renzo Gracie, the great MMA fighter and coach, is a guest on my blog ahead of his UFC debut in Abu Dhabi on April 10. Gracie, from the legendary family which is synonymous with jiu-jitsu, trains fighters in the United States and is a veteran of the sport. He faces Matt Hughes, the two-time welterweight champion, in the first staging of a UFC event in the United Arab Emirates.

By Renzo Gracie

Iím preparing for my UFC fight at UFC 112 in Abu Dhabi on April 10. It will be the first UFC ever in the Middle East, the first UFC ever to take place outdoors and, for me, the first time I have ever fought in the UFC.

I have been a professional mixed martial artist since 1992, and my family helped create the very first UFC event in 1993, but I have never fought in the UFC myself. I came close several times in my career, but it never worked out. Now, aged 43, I will finally fight in the Octagon, against Matt Hughes, the two-time former champion.

Hughes beat my cousin, and the first ever UFC champion, Royce Gracie four years ago and this isnít a fight for revenge but to restore family pride.

Matt Hughes is a very strong fighter, he has great wrestling and takedowns. He is dangerous. My strength is Gracie jiu-jitsu, which was an art created by my family years ago in Brazil where the opponentís strength is used against him.

I have been at home in New York, training. I was training with current UFC welterweight champion George St-Pierre, who has fought Hughes three times and beat him twice. Georges defended his title on Saturday in Newark against Englandís Dan Hardy.