Go Back   Matt-Hughes.com Official Forums > MMA Related > Matt Hughes

Old 06-05-2009, 03:27 AM
Super Moderator

Send a message via Yahoo to Boomer
Default Should Matt Retire?

I'm back in Afghanistan and my two week trek back to the good ol US of A couldn't have been better. Of course as soon as I arrived back here I had quite a few folks asking about the fight and wanted details and pictures and everything that goes along with going to an event that captures peoples attention. There has been one reoccurring theme in most of my conversations around UFC 98 and that is the one of Matt's decision not to retire. Some are surprised and some question if this decision is right. With the recent “Changing of the guard” talk and Matt's recent losses to GSP and Alves there is a perception by some that Matt should pass the torch and stop trying to carry it himself. I whole hardly disagree with this. Since bringing facts together to paint the full picture is what I do for a living … let me lend a bit of my analytical insight into this russel of discussion that is creeping around the Hughes camp.

Like I said, I have had a few of these convo's in the few days I've been back and read a few things here and there on the internet. Most people I talk to just ask if Matt's age is hurting his ability to compete at the level the UFC offers and of course my answer is “no”. After a few base reasons of why I believe this, they seem to easily agree with my reasoning and move on. I did however have a fellow analyst, who is quite the MMA fan and chose to mentally spar with me on this subject. (I think more or less he did it just to get me going rather then any real convection to his option. Kinda like a Cardinals fan ribbing a Cubs fan just to get under the skin.) The basics of his argument boiled down to two issues: