Go Back   Matt-Hughes.com Official Forums > MMA Related > Training/Nutrition

Old 05-01-2009, 04:16 PM

Default Protecting the hands

I'm looking for some advice and unput about hands. I've been boxing for almost 5 years (off and on) and within the last year or so I've really focused in and feel like I'm finally getting good (got some new coaches that are technique monsters). The problem is that with getting better, I'm hitting a lot harder and am experiencing some hand fatigue and soreness. I wanted ot see if anyone has any tips for this. I typically double wrap on sparring days and single wrap on other days. Today while typing I noticed that my right index knuckle is pretty sore.

[
Old 05-01-2009, 04:21 PM
Tattoo Artist

You definitely need to keep wrapping up and make sure you are wrapping in a way that you are separating your knuckles. The most common fracture is a "boxers break" which affects all the little bones in the top of your hands. If you dont know for sure how to wrap up tp prevent this, ask around and someone will be more than happy to show you, I am sure.
Old 05-01-2009, 04:31 PM
Allons-y

Send a message via AIM to VCURamFan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugar Shane
You definitely need to keep wrapping up and make sure you are wrapping in a way that you are separating your knuckles. The most common fracture is a "boxers break" which affects all the little bones in the top of your hands. If you dont know for sure how to wrap up tp prevent this, ask around and someone will be more than happy to show you, I am sure.
You should wrap his hands for him & then go a few rounds in Vegas. Maybe Dana will put y'all on the undercard!!!
Old 05-01-2009, 04:35 PM
Miss Foxy

When you are getting sore fingers is it after sparring, speed bag, or punching bag??
Old 05-01-2009, 04:38 PM
Tattoo Artist

Quote:
Originally Posted by VCURamFan
You should wrap his hands for him & then go a few rounds in Vegas. Maybe Dana will put y'all on the undercard!!!