Go Back   Matt-Hughes.com Official Forums > MMA Related > UFC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-01-2011, 03:54 PM
Chuck
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No to showing scores......
Yes to OT in a 3 round fight....
No to OT in a 5 round fight...

OR.........................................

Just use the yellow card.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:44 PM
Tyburn's Avatar
Tyburn Tyburn is offline
Angry @ Injustice!
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: England
Posts: 16,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VCURamFan View Post
Dave, you have to stop trying to make up ways to enforce your preferences on reality. We all know that you want Pettis to win the LW title, so therefore anything delaying this is evil and must be abolished. You have to accept the truth of the situation: a draw is a draw, not a "kind of actually when you think of it my way" loss.
Sorry...tell me, who has the belt following a Draw. is it the challenger, or the champion?

a one word answer will surfice
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:47 PM
Spiritwalker's Avatar
Spiritwalker Spiritwalker is offline
Matt-4; GJJ Black Belts-0
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Gastonia NC
Posts: 4,339
Default

who does now?
__________________
It is because you chose to get on the mat that makes you the winner. Think about how many people are not on that mat right now. - Luis Sucuri Togno
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:48 PM
VCURamFan's Avatar
VCURamFan VCURamFan is online now
Allons-y
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Basketball Capital of the World
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to VCURamFan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyburn View Post
Sorry...tell me, who has the belt following a Draw. is it the challenger, or the champion?

a one word answer will surfice
Nobody.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:51 PM
Tyburn's Avatar
Tyburn Tyburn is offline
Angry @ Injustice!
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: England
Posts: 16,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritwalker View Post
who does now?
In a Draw, the Champion retains his belt....in a three round fight a draw is pointless....thats why I support your case for application against three round fights...but for the special fights, where you must outright WIN to get the belt...then its stupid...coz you are supposed to be THE BEST if you get a belt...you've already had two extra rounds to proove you are the best...if you cant proove that to the judges...then you dont deserve special discompensation...You couldnt defeat the best, therefore you are not the best.

Its VERY simple.

At title level a Draw is NOT good enough...if it was, then the contender would walk away with the belt...technically they may not have lost...but they sure as hell didnt win either
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:52 PM
Tyburn's Avatar
Tyburn Tyburn is offline
Angry @ Injustice!
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: England
Posts: 16,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VCURamFan View Post
Nobody.
thats not true is it
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:54 PM
VCURamFan's Avatar
VCURamFan VCURamFan is online now
Allons-y
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Basketball Capital of the World
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to VCURamFan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiritwalker View Post
who does now?
No one has that belt. Sure, Edgar still has his belts from when he beat BJ, but he doesn't have the belt from UFC 125.

As we all know, Matt's a 9x champion, meaning he's got 9 UFC WW Championship Belts (or had at some point, since I know he's donated some). Each time he went out & fought, there was, quite literally, a new belt up for grabs.

Dave's trying to imply that there's not a single individual belt which gets passed from champ to champ, so if Gray has failed to get the belt at UFC 125, then he's lost his contendership. Problem is, Frankie failed to get the belt at UFC 125, too, so by his argument, there is no champion.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:58 PM
Tyburn's Avatar
Tyburn Tyburn is offline
Angry @ Injustice!
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: England
Posts: 16,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VCURamFan View Post
No one has that belt. Sure, Edgar still has his belts from when he beat BJ, but he doesn't have the belt from UFC 125.

As we all know, Matt's a 9x champion, meaning he's got 9 UFC WW Championship Belts (or had at some point, since I know he's donated some). Each time he went out & fought, there was, quite literally, a new belt up for grabs.

Dave's trying to imply that there's not a single individual belt which gets passed from champ to champ, so if Gray has failed to get the belt at UFC 125, then he's lost his contendership. Problem is, Frankie failed to get the belt at UFC 125, too, so by his argument, there is no champion.
are you SURE he wasnt given a new belt???? ABSOLUTELY Sure?? I thought someone HAD to be given the belt...otherwise how CAN they still be holding the Title.

I assumed that they gave Frankie A new belt, despite the draw
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:58 PM
VCURamFan's Avatar
VCURamFan VCURamFan is online now
Allons-y
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Basketball Capital of the World
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to VCURamFan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyburn View Post
thats not true is it
Really, Dave? Are yo uimplying tha Frankie has the UFC 125 belt at home? That's what you're implying. Unless you think that because he has the belts from previous title wins means he wins this one, too. But that can't be right since Jens, BJ & Sherk all have belts from previous wins. Does that mean that, since there's a draw, they're all champs again, since they "have the belt"?

Dave, don't be disingenuous. You've argued up & down (& I've agreed with you) that Matt's a 9x champ because he's got 9 belts from 9 wins in 12 title fights. By that same logic, Frankie's a 2x champ because he's got 2 belts from 2 wins in 3 title fights. I'm sorry if you don't like the results that your own logic produces, but you have to live with it or else you look like a child changing his mind whenever it suits him to get his way.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-01-2011, 04:59 PM
VCURamFan's Avatar
VCURamFan VCURamFan is online now
Allons-y
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Basketball Capital of the World
Posts: 14,292
Send a message via AIM to VCURamFan
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyburn View Post
are you SURE he wasnt given a new belt???? ABSOLUTELY Sure?? I thought someone HAD to be given the belt...otherwise how CAN they still be holding the Title.

I assumed that they gave Frankie A new belt, despite the draw
They strapped a belt on him, yeah, but it's not a new one. How can they give someone a belt if they didn't win it, Dave?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.