Go Back   Matt-Hughes.com Official Forums > General Discussions > Politics

Old 07-24-2009, 12:07 AM
DonnaMaria

Default Please explain!

I've waited all day for someone else to start this thread!

The President's speech last night, Health Care Reform..........?!?!?!?

So........I'm a teacher........and I LIKE my health insurance plan...........

so I will get to keep it? As long as my Board of Education keeps our plan?

People who have existing plans won't change? People without plans will be covered?

yes?
Old 07-24-2009, 12:50 AM
Stump Rules!

I didn't listen that closely however, it sounds like nothing changes. We, the tax payers,our health care stays the same. People that don't pay taxes, or even have jobs....we still pay for Maybe I missed something?

http://stumpdotcom.com/
Old 07-24-2009, 05:28 AM

I've been listening to some of this tonight and it sounds like Obama is trying to make it sound like nothing will change for those who want to keep their own insurance, but others are saying that is not so. The people against this plan say private plans will not be able to compete with this low cost government plan. One lady put it really well, the two plans being offered (I guess Obama's and the Democrats which she read) are great for "healthy" people just not great for sick people. Obama is saying all these diseases and medical conditions (diabetes, cancer, heart and lung problems, etc.) are preventable. He's not taking into account genetics, diseases like MS, etc... that people have no control over. I just found out I have lung cancer. I have never smoked a day in my life. Their is cancer however on both sides of my family. So where would I fit into Obama's plan if he's successful in getting it passed. Plus, they say (as usual) there are other things tacked onto this so-called wonder health care plan besides the health care that is costing this trillions of $.