PDA

View Full Version : Pat Curran Out of Bellator 73 Title Defense


VCURamFan
08-15-2012, 04:39 PM
From MMAFighting.com:


Aug 15, 2012 - The MMA injury bug has hit Bellator.

Lightweight (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/weight_class/lightweight) champion Pat Curran (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129773/pat-curran) has pulled out of his Aug. 24 title fight against Patricio Freire (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129487/patricio-freire) due to a fractured orbital bone. Curran confirmed the news on Twitter (https://twitter.com/PatCurranMMA/status/235517600635953154) after ESPN.com first reported it.

According to the report, Curran suffered the injury in training Tuesday morning during the third round of sparring at his gym in a suburb outside of Chicago. No word just yet on whether Freire will remain on the Bellator 73 (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fight-card/98063/bellator-73) card at Harrah's Tunica Hotel and Casino in Mississippi.

Curran (17-4) is 4-0 since dropping down to featherweight in June 2011. He knocked Joe Warren (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129566/joe-warren) in March to capture the promotion's 145-pound title.

Freire (17-1) won the Bellator Season 4 featherweight tournament in May 2011 to earn a shot at the title.

Daniel Straus (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129486/daniel-straus) (20-4) won the Season 6 featherweight tournament this past May, so he'll now have to wait a little longer to fight the winner of Curran vs. Freire.

The Bellator lightweight (Marcos Galvao vs. Luis Nogueira (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fight/1942/bellator-73-marcos-galvao-vs-luis-nogueira)) and light heavyweight (Travis Wiuff vs. Attila Vegh (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fight/2084/bellator-73-attila-vegh-vs-travis-wiuff)) tournament final is scheduled to take place at Bellator 73.