PDA

View Full Version : Ronda Rousey vs. Sarah Kaufman Slated for August


VCURamFan
05-08-2012, 06:04 PM
MMAFighting.com:


May 8, 2012 - Ronda Rousey (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/131295/ronda-rousey) will defend her Strikeforce (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/promotion/strikeforce) bantamweight title for the first time later this summer.

According to sources close to Strikeforce, Rousey will meet top contender Sarah Kaufman (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122594/sarah-kaufman) at a yet-to-be announced Strikeforce card in August. No date or location has been finalized yet.

Rousey (5-0) defeated Miesha Tate (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/130035/miesha-tate) in March to capture the Strikeforce women's 135-pound belt. The win capped off an impressive year which saw her win her first five fights in a combined time of 7:15.

Kaufman (15-1) secured her spot as the No. 1 contender when she defeated Alexis Davis (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/132840/alexis-davis) on the same card in March. The Canadian has won three in a row since losing the 135-pound belt to Marloes Coenen (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122593/marloes-coenen) in Oct. 2010.

The card will air on Showtime.

Strikeforce returns on May 19 with an event headlined by Daniel Cormier vs. Josh Barnett (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fight/1669/strikeforce-barnett-vs-cormier-josh-barnett-vs-daniel-cormier) and Gilbert Melendez vs. Josh Thomson (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fight/1683/strikeforce-barnett-vs-cormier-gilbert-melendez-vs-josh-thomson).

J.B.
05-09-2012, 09:31 AM
Ronda Rousey makes me like womens MMA...and not by choice...but I am seriously scared she may hunt me down and kick my ass!. WAR ROUSEY! :)