PDA

View Full Version : Fedor Emelianenko vs. Pedro Rizzo Slated for June 21


VCURamFan
04-20-2012, 03:09 PM
From MMAFighting.com:


Apr 20, 2012 - Pedro Rizzo (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129558/pedro-rizzo) has been tapped as Fedor Emelianenko's (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122490/fedor-emelianenko) next opponent.

An M-1 Global official announced on Twitter Friday that "The Last Emperor" has agreed to meet "The Rock" on June 21 at the Ice Palace in St. Petersburg, Russia. No other event details were announced, including whether the fight will air live in North America.

Emelianenko (33-4, 1 NC) has gotten back on the winning track after losing three straight fights in Strikeforce (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/promotion/strikeforce) in 2010-11. He snapped his losing streak by defeating Jeff Monson (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122497/jeff-monson) via unanimous decision in Nov. 2011, and then knocked out Satoshi Ishii (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122646/satoshi-ishii) on New Year's Eve in Japan.

The 37-year-old Rizzo (19-9) hasn't fought since he defeated Ken Shamrock (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/130216/ken-shamrock) at Impact FC 2 in July 2010. He was scheduled to fight Tim Sylvia (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/130175/tim-sylvia) at a ProElite event late last year and Valentijn Overeem (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129245/valentijn-overeem) on an Italian card earlier this year, however, injuries forced him to pull out of the bouts. The former UFC fighter will enter the bout riding a three-fight winning streak.

Bobby Lashley (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129243/bobby-lashley) and Rolles Gracie were some of the other names discussed as potential opponents for Emelianenko before settling on Rizzo.

JavierDLC
04-20-2012, 04:21 PM
No Mames!!!! Seriously?!?!?!?!?!

Come on Fedor! Leave M1-Global!! I guess its easier said then done.. they're probably owned by the Russian Mob and have Fedor by the B@lls

PRShrek
04-20-2012, 04:43 PM
I like both these guys, but I like Pedro better. He always seemed like a nice kid who straight up murdered people. His brawls with Abbott and Teligman are two of the most watchable fights from the early UFC.