PDA

View Full Version : DREAM 'Fight for Japan' Grand Prix set for May 29th


VCURamFan
04-15-2011, 08:24 PM
http://cdn0.sbnation.com/entry_photo_images/1039502/dream-fight_large.jpg


Looks like this DREAM (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/promotion/dream) is coming true.

Fighting and Entertainment Group (FEG) today announced its upcoming "Fight for Japan" grand prix tournament to be held under the DREAM banner beginning May 29 at the Saitama Super Arena in Saitama, Japan.

Particpants for the opening round of the all-bantamweight tournament include Hideo Tokoro (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122599/hideo-tokoro), Masakazu Imanari (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129570/masakazu-imanari), Yoshiro Maeda (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129567/yoshiro-maeda), Keisuke Fujiwara, Darren Uyenoyama (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129576/darren-uyenoyama), Kenji Osawa, Takafumi Otsuka (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129574/takafumi-otsuka) and Atsushi Yamamoto.

In addition, AOL Fanhouse (http://www.mmafighting.com/2011/04/15/dream-announces-bantamweight-grand-prix-to-begin-on-may-29/) reports the grand prix will operate in an "efficient" manner, with "minimal production and minimal light in it, [and] will be held in such a manner as possible without wasting electricity."

So don't count on any pyrotechnics or protracted musical numbers to open the show.

Part of that has to do with the country's national crisis, resulting from last month's devastating earthquake and the damage it caused to civilian and government domiciles.

Japan is still reeling from aftershocks and nuclear fallout but as they say, the show must go on.

DREAM "Fight for Japan" is also expected to feature non-tournament bouts that may include top names like Shinya Aoki (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122522/shinya-aoki), Mitsuhiro Ishida (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122600/mitsuhiro-ishida), and Joachim Hansen (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122623/joachim-hansen).

Stay tuned to MMAmania.com (http://mmamania.com/)for more details and information on this still-developing fight card.