PDA

View Full Version : UFC names the top 25 'Ultimate Fighters' OF Seasons Past


VCURamFan
04-01-2011, 07:49 PM
From MMAMania.com:


These past few years, fight fans have become rather critical of The Ultimate Fighter, the seemingly stale but still relatively popular Spike TV reality show.
This is most evident when examining the ratings for the premier of season 13 (http://www.mmamania.com/2011/3/31/2083859/ultimate-fighter-13-ratings-for-lesnar-vs-dos-santos-premiere-on), featuring the biggest box office behemoth in the history of the UFC, Brock Lesnar. While they were on par with past editions of the show, the numbers are still viewed as a disappointment considering who's involved in the show.
The reason so often given for the decline in perception of the show can be directly correlated to the decline in superstars produced by it. When looking at the crop of fighters to come out of season one compared to the crop of fighters in say, season nine, it's a landslide, no doubt.
That said, there's been quite a bit of talent dispersed through the 12 seasons to hit the air up to this point. And UFC.com (http://www.ufc.com/news/The-TUF-25-Part-Three) conveniently came up with a list of the top 25.
Who came in at number one? The list, up for your continued debate, after the jump.

25. Matt Mitrione (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122496/matt-mitrione) (season 10)
24. Roy Nelson (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/123062/roy-nelson) (season 10)
23. Cole Miller (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122645/cole-miller) (season five)
22. Kendall Grove (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/127153/kendall-grove) (season three)
21. Stephan Bonnar (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/127151/stephan-bonnar) (season one)
20. Joe Lauzon (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122535/joe-lauzon) (season five)
19. Ross Pearson (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122622/ross-pearson) (season nine)
18. Brendan Schaub (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122501/brendan-schaub) (season 10)
17. Melvin Guillard (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122531/melvin-guillard) (season two)
16. Joe Stevenson (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/127368/joe-stevenson) (season two)
15. Mike Swick (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129563/mike-swick) (season one)
14. Matt Serra (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122589/matt-serra) (season four)
13. Krzysztof Soszynski (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122949/krzysztof-soszynski) (season eight)
12. Matt Wiman (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129146/matt-wiman) (season five)
11. Chris Leben (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/128665/chris-leben) (season one)
10. Nate Diaz (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/128663/nate-diaz) (season five)
9. Matt Hamill (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122512/matt-hamill) (season three)
8. Josh Koscheck (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122582/josh-koscheck) (season one)
7. George Sotiropoulos (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122544/george-sotiropoulos) (season six)
6. Diego Sanchez (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122588/diego-sanchez) (season one)
5. Kenny Florian (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122529/kenny-florian) (season one)
4. Michael Bisping (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122551/michael-bisping) (season three)
3. Forrest Griffin (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122511/forrest-griffin) (season one)
2. Gray Maynard (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122537/gray-maynard) (season five)
1. Rashad Evans (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122510/rashad-evans) (season two)

(bold = season winner)

Chris F
04-02-2011, 02:23 AM
How on Earth is Roy ranked less than Schaub when Roy KO'd him. This list is a joke it my be an Aprils fools stunt.

Bonnie
04-03-2011, 05:59 AM
What are they using to rank them? :unsure:

Llamafighter
04-03-2011, 02:05 PM
I would think Bonnar and Griffin would be #1 and #2.

wavetar
04-03-2011, 04:18 PM
What are they using to rank them? :unsure:

The criteria according to UFC.com:

First is level of success. Winning a UFC championship is the obvious pinnacle, and only three TUF competitors (Matt Serra, Forrest Griffin, and Rashad Evans) have reached those heights. Fighting for a UFC belt is big plus in a fighter’s favor as well. Next up is quality of opposition. Fighting at the highest level of the game and losing a few fights will get you more points here than winning a bunch of fights at the prelim level. And finally, we’re looking at impact on the organization, which is a subjective call, but one that is necessary. Headlining pay-per-views and being in the public eye consistently adds a level of pressure fighting in non-televised bouts just doesn’t have. That’s why a Michael Bisping, who has been the face of UK MMA and the headliner or participant in a featured bout on many major cards, is in the top five while other veteran performers are below him.

Personally, I think Bader and Sodollah should be on the list...drop Mitrione and maybe Grove. Also put Koscheck higher than Sotiropolous and move Roy higher than Schaub...much better.

Llamafighter
04-03-2011, 04:27 PM
I think Lytle has the record for most bonuses. why isn't he on the list??

Miss Foxy
04-04-2011, 02:17 PM
I am somewhat pissed that Amir isn't on that list!!!!!!!!! :muttering::censored:

VCURamFan
04-04-2011, 03:46 PM
I am somewhat pissed that Amir isn't on that list!!!!!!!!! :muttering::censored:
Yeah, I'm disappointed too, but in all fairness, he's just barely above .500 right now.

Miss Foxy
04-04-2011, 03:53 PM
Yeah, I'm disappointed too, but in all fairness, he's just barely above .500 right now.

In all fairness Matt Serra being on there? WTF..:punch:

VCURamFan
04-04-2011, 04:00 PM
In all fairness Matt Serra being on there? WTF..:punch:
He won a title because of the show. As much as I hate the mouth-breather, he deserves to be ranked up there. :angry:

Miss Foxy
04-04-2011, 04:01 PM
He won a title because of the show. As much as I hate the mouth-breather, he deserves to be ranked up there. :angry:

But he still sucks..:laugh:

VCURamFan
04-04-2011, 04:03 PM
But he still sucks..:laugh:
Of course he does!!! :laugh: