PDA

View Full Version : Strikeforce Hasn't Spoken to CBS Since Nashville Brawl

VCURamFan
05-14-2010, 04:01 PM
Interesting take. I especailly like the bit about what CBS could have done differently (in bold).According to Strikeforce CEO Scott Coker (http://www.cagepotato.com/scott-coker-viciously-punkd-cris-cyborg), his promotion has not been in touch with broadcast partner CBS since the post-fight brawl (http://www.cagepotato.com/strikeforce-nashville-post-fight-brawl-video-reactions) that occurred at the tail end of the Strikeforce: Nashville event April 17.

Now, I'm no business expert, but I have some management and PR experience and one thing I'm pretty sure that is a paramount component to every successful business relationship is open two-way communication. If it were me, I would have been on the phone with CBS that Monday to set up a debriefing to discuss the incident, what went wrong and how we should move forward.

Instead, it seems that Strikeforce is taking the don't ask don't tell, head in the sand technique, which likely won't end well as time passes and CBS starts to wonder what the hell is going on.

In an interview with MMAJunkie (http://mmajunkie.com/news/19126/no-cbs-talks-yet-but-strikeforce-hopeful-for-fall-return-to-network-tv.mma), Coker said that he isn't concerned that the growing amount of time the two sides remain silent is any indication that CBS likely won't pick up the option to broadcast more Strikeforce events.