PDA

View Full Version : Raising Daughters?

RG8144
12-09-2009, 07:21 PM
My wife and I just had our ultra-sound this morning and found out we are having a little girl! Based on wives tales and such we were pretty sure it was a boy...so now my world has been rocked...in an awesome way! I must admit that raising a daughter as a first child is a bit more daunting than the thought of raising a first child as a boy.

I am new to this...I have a lot of great examples of good parenting in my life, but I wanted to see if anyone here has some good input, advice or even resources for a new father who is raising a girl and wants to do so in a God-honoring way...

I guess I could throw a couple questions out there that I have in mind initially:

1. What are the biggest challenges & blessings of having a daughter?
2. What are some of the most significant differences between raising a boy and a girl?
3. What are 1-3 of the best parenting resources or pieces of advice you use or would offer?
4. If you were a teenage boy would you be scared of me? (I think I posted a pic somewhere around here! haha)

Blmfighter
12-09-2009, 07:41 PM
I have three girls 1,3, and 4 years old.

1> Letting them be girls, buying pink stuff and not treating them like boys.

2> Never had boys, however going by kids of friends. Girls are easier and don't tend to rip your house apart.

3> Understand that they donít think like you.
Spend good time with them. Donít just watch T.V. while they play. Interact with them.
Let them know that you love them and are proud of them.

4> Sorry, never saw the pic. When I was a teenage boy I was not smart enough to be scared of anyone.

County Mike
12-09-2009, 08:02 PM
I hear ya brother. We find out on Friday if we're having a boy or a girl. I'm scared to death of having a girl first. Not saying I wouldn't love her unconditionally. Just saying I'd be extra worried about her all the time.