PDA

View Full Version : The Ultimate Fighter: Team Jones vs. Team Sonnen season primer


VCURamFan
01-23-2013, 05:20 PM
From MMAFighting.com:

The 14 fighters selected to live in The Ultimate Fighter house and compete for a UFC contract are now public knowledge after Tuesday night's premiere episode of TUF: Jones vs. Sonnen.

The following is the list of competitors as they were selected by their respective teams, complete with records, world rankings and other notes of interest.


Team Jones

Clint Hester (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184617/clint-hester)
World ranking: 246
Record: 7-3
Home: Atlanta, Georgia
Notable opponents: Douglas Lima (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/126884/douglas-lima) (loss), Cale Yarbrough (loss)
Notes: Has an amateur boxing background; enters house on 3-fight win streak

Josh Samman (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/131827/josh-samman)
World ranking: 159
Record: 9-2
Home: Tallahassee, Florida
Notable opponents: Chris Cope (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129718/chris-cope) (win), Mikey Gomez (win), Dan Cramer (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/130342/dan-cramer) (loss)
Notes: Turned pro at age 19

Robert "Bubba" McDaniel (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184601/robert-mcdaniel)
World ranking: 67
Record: 20-6
Home: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Notable opponents: Kyacey Uscola (win), Alexander Shlemenko (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/130784/alexander-shlemenko) (loss), Johnny Rees (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/137649/johnny-rees) (win), Gerald Harris (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122554/gerald-harris) (loss)
Notes: Previously competed in Bellator and EliteXC'; enters house on 6-fight win streak

Gilbert Smith, Jr. (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184615/gilbert-smith)
World ranking: unranked
Record: 5-1
Home: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Notable opponents: none
Notes: Tried out for a previous season of TUF but was not selected; at 5-foot-9, the shortest competitor in the field

Collin Hart (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184619/collin-hart)
World ranking: Unranked
Record: 4-1-1
Home: Santa Rosa, California
Notable opponents: Joey Henle (draw)
Notes: Trains under former UFC middleweight contender David Terrell

Adam Cella (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184613/adam-cella)
World ranking: unranked
Record: 4-0
Home: Fenton, Missouri
Notable opponents: none
Notes: Started his combat sports training as a kickboxer

Dylan Andrews (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184603/dylan-andrews)
World ranking: 146
Record: 16-4-1
Home: Gold Coast, Australia
Notable opponents: Jesse Taylor (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/137651/jesse-taylor) (lost), Shonie Carter (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/131793/shonie-carter) (won), Brian Ebersole (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129408/brian-ebersole) (lost)
Notes: Was turned down for a spot on last season's TUF: The Smashes


Team Sonnen

Luke Barnatt (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184605/luke-barnatt)
World ranking: 253
Record: 5-0
Home: Cambridge, England
Notable opponents: none
Notes: At 6-foot-6, the tallest contestant in the house, and would be tallest in UFC's middleweight division

Uriah Hall (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/128449/uriah-hall)
World ranking: 160
Record: 7-2
Home: New York, New York
Notable opponents: Chris Weidman (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/128569/chris-weidman) (loss), Costa Philippou (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/128503/costantinos-philippou) (loss)
Notes: Competed in Chuck Norris' World Combat League

Zak Cummings (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/130439/zak-cummings)
World ranking: 137
Record: 15-3
Home: Kansas City, Missouri
Notable opponents: Ryan Jimmo (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129052/ryan-jimmo) (lost), Tim Kennedy (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129550/tim-kennedy) (lost), Terry Martin (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129940/terry-martin) (won)Notes: Previously competed for both Strikeforce (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/promotion/strikeforce) and Bellator

Tor Troeng (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/151193/tor-troeng)
World ranking: 41
Record: 15-4-1
Record: Umea, Sweden
Notable opponents: Thales Leites (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129562/thales-leites) (lost), Mamed Khalidov (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/129561/mamed-khalidov) (lost)
Notes: Has won eight of his last nine fights; also holds a full-time job as a civil engineer

Jimmy Quinlan (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184611/jimmy-quinlan)
World ranking: 347
Record: 3-0
Home: Metheun, Massachusetts
Notable opponents: none
Notes: Decorated collegiate wrestler and jiu-jitsu brown belt

Kevin Casey (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184609/kevin-casey)
World ranking: 179
Record: 5-2
Home: Hawthorne, California
Notable opponents: Matt Lindland (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122559/matt-lindland) (lost), Ikuhisa Minowa (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/122647/ikuhisa-minowa) (lost)
Notes: Gracie jiu-jitsu black belt

Kelvin Gastelum (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fighter/184607/kelvin-gastelum)
World ranking: unranked
Record: 4-0
Home: Yuma, Arizona
Notable opponents: none
Notes: Planned move to welterweight before being accepted onto show

Event Finals
April 13
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Las Vegas, Nevada

Coach matchup
April 27 - UFC 159 (http://www.sbnation.com/mma/fight-card/113677/ufc-159-jones-vs-sonnen)
Prudential Center
Newark, New Jersey

(Editor's Note: World rankings compiled by MMA ratings site FightMatrix.com (http://www.fightmatrix.com/mma-ranks/middleweight/))